header Notes Collection

4 Shillings 1950, Bahamas

in Krause book Number: 9e
Years of issue: 1950
Edition: 3.182.037
Signatures: Commissioner of Currency: Mr. George Higgs, Receiver General Commissioner of Currency: Mr. Herbert Rowland Latreille, Commissioner of Currency: Mr. Basil Burnside
Serie: 1936 Currency Note Act
Specimen of: 1936
Material: Cotton fiber
Size (mm): 150 х 83
Printer: TDLR (Thomas de la Rue & Company), London

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

4 Shillings 1950




Christopher Columbus


4 Shillings 1950

HM The King George VI HM The King George VI.

George VI (Albert Frederick Arthur George, 14 December 1895 - 6 February 1952) was King of the United Kingdom and the Dominions of the British Commonwealth from 11 December 1936 until his death. He was the last Emperor of India and the first Head of the Commonwealth.

This portrait of His Majesty is made by photographer Bertram Park (1883-1972) in March 1938, and it is one of the more widely used images of The King.

I found this image here "Stamp Community Family". The portrait on banknote is, probably, taken from this photo session.

On the left side is the emblem of Bahamas.

The Bahamian archipelago nation consists of 700 islands and located in the western Atlantic Ocean, stretches from the north - west to south - east over 800 km chain. Although in 1629 the island was captured by the British, then for more than one and a half centuries they had to fight for them with France and Spain, and some of the island became a haven of pirates. Only by 1718 the British defeated the pirates, and expelled them from the Bahamas. About these events resembled the first British colonial emblem, emerged at the turn of the XVII and XVIII centuries. The emblem shows the sailing ship under the British flag, chasing in the high seas for three pirate ships, surrounded by traditional English Coat of Arms and the garter with the Latin motto "Trade restored by the expulsion of pirates". Placed at the top of the British Crown and below - the band with the islands names. Since the mid- XIX century, this logo has been used as a badge of colonial flag. In 1959, based on the emblem was created the first Bahamian flag in the shape of a shield.

Coat of arms was also a new badge.


4 Shillings 1950

On the left side is the Royal coat of arms of the United Kingdom. It is the official coat of arms of the British monarch. These arms are used by the Queen in her official capacity as monarch of the United Kingdom, and are officially known as her Arms of Dominion. Variants of the Royal Arms are used by other members of the Royal Family; and by the British government in connection with the administration and government of the country. In Scotland, the Queen has a separate version of the Royal Arms, a variant of which is used by the Scotland Office.

The shield is quartered, depicting in the first and fourth quarters the three passant guardant lions of England; in the second, the rampant lion and double tressure glory-counterflory of Scotland; and in the third, a harp for Ireland. The crest is a statant guardant lion wearing the imperial crown, himself on another representation of that crown. The dexter supporter is a likewise crowned English lion; the sinister, a Scottish unicorn. According to legend a free unicorn was considered a very dangerous beast; therefore the heraldic unicorn is chained, as were both supporting unicorns in the Royal coat of arms of Scotland. In the greenery below, a thistle, Tudor Rose and shamrock are present, representing Scotland, England and Ireland respectively. The coat features both the motto of English monarchs, Dieu et mon droit (God and my right), and the motto of the Order of the Garter, Honi soit qui mal y pense (shame upon him who thinks evil of it) on a representation of the Garter behind the shield.

Pattern and denomination are on the right.


In 1919 was created the Monetary Council (Currency Board). In 1968 was established the Office of Bahamas Monetary Authority, obtained the right of money issue. At June 1, 1974 were established the Central Bank of the Bahamas, which were transferred to the functions of the abolished Office of Bahamas Monetary Authority.