header Notes Collection

50 Baht 1996. 50 Anniversary of the Reign of Rama IX, Thailand

in Krause book Number: 99
Years of issue: 1996
Edition: --
Signatures: Minister of Finance: Dr. Amnuay Virawan, Governor: Mr. Rerngchai Marakanond
Serie: No Serie
Specimen of: 1996
Material: Polymer
Size (mm): 144 х 72
Printer: Note Printing Australia, Craigieburn, Melbourne

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

50 Baht 1996. 50 Anniversary of the Reign of Rama IX




HM The King Rama IX.


50 Baht 1996. 50 Anniversary of the Reign of Rama IX

HM The King Rama IX in the uniform of the Supreme Commander.

Bhumibol Adulyadej (born 5 December 1927, Cambridge, Massachusetts US) is the reigning King of Thailand. He is also known as Rama IX, as he is the ninth monarch of the Chakri Dynasty. Having reigned since 9 June 1946, he is the world's longest-serving current head of state and the longest-reigning monarch in Thai history.

The royal emblem of Thailand is in top right corner.


This symbol changes over time, and each new 10-year cycle of King is marked by another emblem. For example, on the 50th Anniversary of the Reign of King Bhumibol, in 1996, they used the royal emblem, depicting two royal elephants under white umbrellas, multi storied, supporting emblem of the Chakri dynasty, and the Great Crown of Victory. It was depicted in the center of a yellow Royal standard.


In the top left corner is the national emblem of Thailand - Garuda.

Lower, centered, is a Lotus flower.


50 Baht 1996. 50 Anniversary of the Reign of Rama IX

On the background is the Ananta Samakhom Throne Hall.

Rama VIIHM the King Rama VII on throne.

Phra Bat Somdet Phra Poramintharamaha Prajadhipok Phra Pok Klao Chao Yu Hua (8 November 1893, Bangkok - 30 May 1941, Surrey, England), also Rama VII, was the seventh monarch of Siam under the House of Chakri. He was the last absolute monarch and the first constitutional monarch of the country. His reign was a turbulent time for Siam due to huge political and social changes during the Revolution of 1932. He is to date the only Siamese monarch to abdicate.

In the top right corner is Garuda - national emblem of Thailand.

Prajadhipok SaktitejanaTop left is Prajadhipok Saktitejana.

Royal Seals are in Thai called Phra Rachalanjakon and in general there are three types, i.e. the Royal Seal, the Privy Seal, and the Great Seal. The ones on display here are the royal seals of King Prajadhipok, with the largest one being the Privy Seal, which has this King's royal emblem (fig.), that is known as Prajadhipok Saktitejana. (Thailex)