header Notes Collection

1 Pound 1958, Nigeria

in Krause book Number: 4
Years of issue: 15.09.1958
Signatures: Unknown signature
Serie: First Series
Specimen of: 15.09.1958
Material: Unknown material
Size (mm): 150 х 83
Printer: Waterlow and Sons, Limited, London

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

1 Pound 1958



Head of lion.


1 Pound 1958

Niger River and Palms along the shore.

Niger river is the third longest river in Africa, only the Nile and Congo rivers are longer. The Niger has one of the most unusual routes of any of the major rivers in the world. It starts approximately 150 miles from the Atlantic Ocean (240 kilometers). Instead of flowing to the nearby Atlantic Ocean it instead heads inland, away from the sea into the Sahara Desert. It turns sharply near the city of Timbuktu and heads to the Gulf of Guinea. Unlike the Nile, the Niger is very clear. This is because its source contains very little silt. The countries of Niger and Nigeria get their names from the river. The river has thirty six families of freshwater fish and nearly 250 species, 20 of which are found nowhere else on Earth but the Niger.

The West African manatee, which faces extinction, lives in the river. These mammals can grow up to fifteen feet long and can weigh nearly eight hundred pounds.

Denominations in numerals are in all corners. In words bottom right.


1 Pound 1958

The locals collecting cocoa beans.

Denominations in numerals are in all corners. In words lower, in center.


The pound was the currency of Nigeria between 1907 and 1973. Until 1958, Nigeria used the British West African pound, after which it issued its own currency. The pound was subdivided into 20 shillings, each of 12 pence. The Nigerian pound (which was at parity with the British pound with easy convertibility) was replaced with the introduction in 1973 of the decimal naira at a rate of 1 pound = 2 naira. This made Nigeria the last country to abandon the £sd currency system.

In 1918, emergency issues were made by the government in denominations of 1, 10 and 20 shillings. In 1959, the Central Bank of Nigeria introduced notes in denominations of 5 and 10 shillings, 1 and 5 pounds. Three series of notes were issued, in 1958, 1967 and 1968.