header Notes Collection

100 Colones 1989, Costa Rica

in Krause book Number: 254a
Years of issue: 04.10.1989
Edition: 8 750 000
Signatures: Presidente Ejecutivo: Fernando Naranjo Villalobos, Gerente: Carlos Hernandez Rodriguez
Serie: No Serie
Specimen of: 30.11.1988
Material: Cotton fiber
Size (mm): 155 х 66
Printer: American Bank Note Company, New-York

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

100 Colones 1989




100 Colones 1989

Ricardo Jimenez Oreamuno

Romualdo Ricardo Jiménez Oreamuno (February 6, 1859 - January 4, 1945) served as president of Costa Rica on three separate occasions: 1910 to 1914, 1924 to 1928, and 1932 to 1936. One of the most well known lawyers in Costa Rican history and a University of Santo Tomás graduate. During his last term in office he concentrated on the country's infrastructure and educational system. He built several large buildings for school housing, improved and build new roads throughout the country and constructed an aqueduct system that started in the central valley at Ojo de Agua and flowed into the Pacific Ocean at Puntarenas. During his administration, the bridge from Filadelfia and Liberia was constructed, as was the Old National Theater.

Denominations in numerals are in lower right and top left corners. In center in words.


100 Colones 1989

supreme court

The building of Supreme Court of Costa Rica, in San-Jose.

Jiménez held several government posts. In November 1886 he was appointed secretary of state in the Office of the Interior, Police, and Public Works. In September 1889 he assumed the post of secretary of state in the Office of Foreign Relations, only to quit after eight days on the job. In November he was named secretary of the interior, foreign relations, and finance, and the following year he was named president of the Supreme Court. In 1892 he resigned his post in objection to the dictatorship of José Joaquín Rodríguez.

Denominations in large numeral are in lower right corner, in top left corner in words.