header Notes Collection

50 Dollars 2010, Canada

in Krause book Number: 104с
Years of issue: 02.2010 - 26.03.2012
Signatures: Deputy Governor: Mr. Tiff Macklem, Governor: Mr. Mark Carney
Serie: Canadian journey
Specimen of: 17.11.2004
Material: 75% cotton, 25% kraft fibre
Size (mm): 152.4 х 69.85
Printer: Canadian Bank Note Company Limited, Ottawa

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

50 Dollars 2010




William Lyon Mackenzie King.

Look at the note under UV (ultraviolet) light. Check that the text "BANK OF CANADA - BANQUE DU CANADA" and a number matching the note’s value glow in interlocking red and yellow. Red and yellow fibres are scattered on both sides of the note.


50 Dollars 2010

50 dollars 2009The engraving on banknote is made after this photo of Mr. Mackenzie King.

William Lyon Mackenzie King (December 17, 1874 - July 22, 1950), also commonly known as Mackenzie King, was the dominant Canadian political leader from the 1920s through the 1940s. He served as the tenth Prime Minister of Canada from December 29, 1921 to June 28, 1926, from September 25, 1926 to August 7, 1930, and from October 23, 1935 to November 15, 1948. A Liberal with 22 years in office, he was the longest-serving Prime Minister in Canadian history. Trained in law and social work, he was keenly interested in the human condition (as a boy, his motto was "Help those that cannot help themselves"), and played a major role in laying the foundations of the Canadian welfare state.

50 dollars 2009Centered is the Peace Tower (tour de la Victoire et de la Paix). It is a focal bell and clock tower, sitting on the central axis of the Center Block of the Canadian parliament buildings in Ottawa, Ontario. The present incarnation replaced the 55-metre (180 ft) Victoria Tower after the latter burned down in 1916, along with most of the Center Block; only the Library of Parliament survived.

The coat of arms of Canada, maple leafs and denominations 50 are on left left side )on the hologram strip).

The flag of Canada is in top right corner.

Denomination in numeral is on right side.


50 Dollars 2010

This note celebrates Canadians, who have campaigned for the rights and freedoms that every citizen of Canada now enjoys.

On banknote are The Famous five, as the Canadian sculptor Barbara Paterson, in 2000, showed them in her sculpture, in Ottawa. The larger than life bronzes, honour Emily Murphy, Henrietta Muir Edwards, Louise McKinney, Irene Parlby and Nellie McClung. The work depicts them as they might have appeared on hearing the news of the Privy Council's ruling (on video). Standing behind an empty chair, Emily Murphy, with a triumphant gesture beckons to visitors, men and women equally, to have a place at this celebration of a new day for women in Canada.

The Famous Five or The Valiant Five (French: Célèbres cinq), were five Alberta women who asked the Supreme Court of Canada to answer the question, "Does the word 'Persons' in Section 24 of the British North America Act, 1867, include female persons?" in the case Edwards v. Canada (Attorney General). The five women, Emily Murphy, Irene Marryat Parlby, Nellie Mooney McClung, Louise Crummy McKinney and Henrietta Muir Edwards, created a petition to ask this question. They sought to have women legally considered persons so that women could be appointed to the Senate. The petition was filed on August 27, 1927, and on 24 April 1928, Canada's Supreme Court summarized its unanimous decision that women are not such "persons". The last line of the judgment reads, "Understood to mean 'Are women eligible for appointment to the Senate of Canada,' the question is answered in the negative." This judgment was overturned by the British Judicial Committee of the Privy Council on 18 October 1929. This case came to be known as the "Persons Case". Although Canadian women (white British/Canadian citizens) had the vote in many provinces and in federal elections by 1929, the case was part of a continent-wide drive for political equality, coming seven years after women's suffrage in the United States through the Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, and thus had important ramifications not just for women's rights but also because in ruling in favour of the appellants, the Privy Council engendered a radical change in the Canadian judicial approach to the Canadian constitution, an approach that has come to be known as the "living tree doctrine".

50 dollars 2009 50 dollars 2009The famous five women were:

Emily Murphy (1868-1933) (the British Empire's first female judge);

Irene Marryat Parlby (1868-1965) (farm women's leader, political activist and first female Cabinet minister in Alberta, still serving in that capacity at the time of the court case);

Nellie Mooney McClung (1873-1951) (a suffragist, author and member of the Alberta Legislature, 1921-1926);

Louise Crummy McKinney (1868-1931) (who had been the first woman elected to the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, or any legislature in Canada or the rest of the British Empire) but no longer MLA at the time of the court case;

Henrietta Muir Edwards (1849-1931) (an advocate for working women, author and a founding member of the Victorian Order of Nurses).

50 dollars 2009 50 dollars 2009On right side, foreground, is the medal of The Thérèse Casgrain Volunteer Award with her portrait. The Thérèse Casgrain Volunteer Award commemorates Thérèse Casgrain’s lifelong campaign for social justice, equality and recognizes volunteers for their pioneering spirit and commitment to helping others.

In 1982, the Thérèse Casgrain Volunteer Award was created in 1982 by the Liberal government of Pierre Trudeau. It was discontinued in 1990 under the Conservative ministry of Brian Mulroney, but was begun anew in 2001 under the Liberal ministry of Jean Chrétien. In 2010, during the Conservative ministry of Stephen Harper, the award was eliminated and then repackaged as the "Prime Minister's Volunteer Award". In 2016 under the Liberal government of Justin Trudeau the award was once again renamed as the Thérèse Casgrain Lifetime Volunteer Achievement Award.

Thérèse Casgrain, CC OBE LL.D. (10 July 1896 – 3 November 1981) was a French Canadian feminist, reformer, politician and senator.

The featured quotation is from the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, first drafted by Canadian John Peters Humphrey. On top are the scales, as symbol of justice.

Denomination in numeral is in top left corner.


This series incorporated security features never before seen in Canadian bank notes. Canadian Journey notes were distinguished not only by enhanced security features, but also by world-class designs and the introduction of a tactile feature to help the blind and partially sighted to identify the different denominations.

First issue: 17.11.2004