header Notes Collection

5 Rupees 1943, British Burma

in Krause book Number: 4
Years of issue: 1943
Signatures: Governor: Sir Chintaman Dwarakanath Deshmukh ( in office from 11.08.1943 to 30.06.1949)
Serie: Serie 1938 - 1939
Specimen of: 1938
Material: Cotton fiber
Size (mm): 125 х 71
Printer: Issue Department of the Bank of India

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

5 Rupees 1943




HM The King George VI.


5 Rupees 1943

On the right side HM The King George VI.

George VI (Albert Frederick Arthur George, 14 December 1895, York Cottage, Sandringham House, Norfolk, United Kingdom - 6 February 1952, Sandringham House, Norfolk) was King of the United Kingdom and the Dominions of the British Commonwealth from 11 December 1936 until his death. He was the last Emperor of India and the first Head of the Commonwealth. Until 1947 the Emperor of India.

HM The King George VI

The traditional profile of the monarch for a picture on the banknotes and coins. Made with a photo shoots on the coronation of George VI, made in 1937.

On His Majesty is St Edward's Crown.

St Edward's Crown

St Edward's Crown is one of the oldest of British Crown Jewels and is considered the principal piece of the Regalia, being the coronation crown traditionally used in the coronation of first English, then British, monarchs, including Queen Elizabeth II, who now reigns as the monarch of 16 independent Commonwealth realms. The crown takes its name from St Edward the Confessor, although the present crown is in fact a reconstruction made for the coronation of King Charles II in 1661, following the destruction of its medieval predecessor during the Interregnum by order of Oliver Cromwell. Two-dimensional representations of the crown are used in coats of arms, badges, and various other insignia throughout the Commonwealth realms to indicate the authority of the reigning sovereign, reflecting the executive governmental authority in and of each realm.

The present St Edward's Crown contains much of the crown made in 1661. It is constructed of solid gold. The design comprises a base, with four crosses pattée alternating with four fleurs-de-lis, above which rise four half-arches surmounted by a monde and cross, all set with 444 precious stones. Within this gold frame there is a velvet cap with an ermine border, which protrudes below the base. The stones were formerly hired for each coronation and then detached, leaving only the frame. However, in 1911 the jewels were set permanently. A number of changes were made for the coronations of King James II (a new monde) and King William III (the base being changed from its original circular form to a more natural oval one). The crown was also made slightly smaller to fit the head of King George V, the first monarch to be crowned with St. Edward's Crown in over two hundred years. The crown was, however, carried in procession at other coronations at which it was not actually worn.

Queen Victoria and King Edward VII chose not to be crowned with St Edward's Crown because of its weight of 4 lb 12 oz. (2.2 kg.) and instead used the lighter Imperial State Crown. St. Edward's Crown was placed on the coffin of Edward VII for his lying in state and funeral in 1910, and was used for the coronation of his crowned successors; Kings George V in 1911 and George VI in 1937 and at the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II in 1953. On 4 June 2013, it was displayed on the altar in Westminster Abbey at the sixtieth anniversary service of the Queen's coronation-the first time it had left the Tower of London since 1953.

Although always regarded as the "official" coronation crown, in fact, only a minority of monarchs have been crowned with the re-made St. Edward's Crown. These were Charles II (1661), James II (1685), William III (1689), George V (1911), George VI (1937) and Elizabeth II (1953). All other English and British monarchs were crowned with other crowns: Queens Mary II and Anne with small diamond crowns of their own; Kings George I, George II, George III, and William IV with George I's new state crown; King George IV with a large new diamond crown; and Queen Victoria and King Edward VII with Victoria's 1838 Imperial State Crown. Before 1649, many monarchs were crowned with the original St. Edward's Crown, though they often had several crowns placed on their head during the ceremony.

Serial number is lower, centered.


5 Rupees 1943

Centered are denominations, in 9 languages, by words. On left side - by number.


In 1938, the first regular issue of Burmese notes was made by the Reserve Bank of India, in denominations of 5, 10, 100, 1000 and 10,000 rupees.

Banknote signed by Sir C. D. Deshmukh.

C.D. Deshmukh

C.D. Deshmukh was the First Indian Governor of Reserve Bank of India (RBI) and later became Finance Minister and was a member of the Indian Civil Service. He was a Member of the Board of Governors for ten Years. He was President of the Indian Statistical Industries in 1945-1964. He was appointed as India?s Special Financial Ambassador to America and Europe in 1949. He founded the India International Centre for which he was the Life President in 1959. Vice Chancellor of Delhi University in 1962-1967.