header Notes Collection

5 Pounds 1952, Southern Rhodesia

in Krause book Number: P11j1
Years of issue: 15.01.1952
Signatures: Chairman: Mr. Gordon Munro, Member: Mr. Harry White Jeffreys
Serie: Series 1938 - 1952
Specimen of: 15.12.1939
Material: 100% raw cotton
Size (mm): 159 x 89
Printer: Bradbury, Wilkinson & Company Limited, New Malden

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

5 Pounds 1952



Cecil John Rhodes watermark

The Rt. Hon. Cecil John Rhodes DCL (5 July 1853 - 26 March 1902) was a British businessman, mining magnate, and politician in South Africa. Rhodes was named the chairman of De Beers at the company's founding in 1888. De Beers, established with funding from NM Rothschild & Sons Limited in 1887, today markets 40% of the world's rough diamonds, and at one time marketed 90%. An ardent believer in British colonialism, Rhodes was the founder of the southern African territory of Rhodesia, which was named after him in 1895. South Africa's Rhodes University is also named after Rhodes. He set up the provisions of the Rhodes Scholarship, which is funded by his estate.


5 Pounds 1952

HM The King George VI.

George VI (Albert Frederick Arthur George, 14 December 1895 - 6 February 1952) was King of the United Kingdom and the Dominions of the British Commonwealth from 11 December 1936 until his death. He was the last Emperor of India and the first Head of the Commonwealth.

HM The King George VI

This engraving is done from the portrait by photographer Dorothy Wilding, made ​​in 1937, after the Coronation Day of His Majesty. The original portrait is now in the National Portrait Gallery, London.

wankie colliery wankie colliery

At the bottom is the view on the Wankie (Hwange) Colliery Company Limited.

Hwange Colliery Company Limited is the name of a company in Zimbabwe and of its associated coal mining, processing and marketing. It was founded in 1899. Mining operations are located near Hwange (called until 1982 Wankie) in the province of Matabeleland North. The company's headquarters are in Hwange and registered office the capital Harare and a regional office in Bulawayo.

Today, its stock is listed on the Zimbabwe Stock Exchange and is a component of its stock index, the Zimbabwe Mining Index. It is also listed on the London Stock Exchange and Johannesburg Stock Exchange.

wankie colliery

Coal transportation is by road and rail. The Colliery owns its own railway system. Handover station to NRZ is Thomson Junction Hwange Colliery Company Limited operate an open cast mine and underground mine. The town Hwange is a town that grew form the mining of coal in the area GPS Coordinates 18°23′0.155″S 26°28′12.03″E.

The town is named after the chieftain of Zwange, who is now called Chief Hwange. The town was known as Wankie until 1982. The Wankie Coal Field, one of the largest in the world, was discovered here in 1895 by the American Scout Frederick Russell Burnham.

In 1972 a mining disaster struck the number 2 colliery at Hwange. (


5 Pounds 1952

coat of arms of Southern Rhodesia

On the top is the coat of arms of Southern Rhodesia.

Coat of arms depicts two black antelope, standing atop an earthen mound. Also located at the bottom of the inscription: Sit Nomine Digna (Maybe worthy of its name) associated with Rhodes. the shield golden hammer on a green background, indicating the extraction of natural resources, the basis of economic stability Rhodesia.

Great bird figurine from soapstone on top, found in the ruins of Great Zimbabwe.

Devils Cataract Victoria falls

On banknote - Victoria Falls. On left side you can see Devils Cataract.

Devil's Cataract, on the Zimbabwe side of the Falls, is the lowest of the five Falls, with a drop of 60 meters. It is separated from the rest of the Falls by Boaruka Island, also known as Cataract Island.

Boaruka is the Tonga word for "divider of waters". The Devil's Cataract is the weakest point in the geological composition of this waterfall system. Here, the Zambezi has cut a 10-metre-deep nick in the hard basalt and, as the nick is eroded away, more and more water will be channelled through it away from the rest of the Falls. At some point in the future - it could be sometime in the next 20000 years - Devil's Cataract will cut back into one of the east-west joints that are filled with softer material. This may happen slowly over time, or could happen catastrophically if part or all of Boaruka Island should collapse into the gorge below. (

Victoria falls

Victoria Falls, or Mosi-oa-Tunya (Tokaleya Tonga: the Smoke that Thunders), is a waterfall in southern Africa on the Zambezi River at the border of Zambia and Zimbabwe (Rhodesia).

David Livingstone, the Scottish missionary and explorer, is believed to have been the first European to view Victoria Falls on 16 November 1855 from what is now known as Livingstone Island, one of two land masses in the middle of the river, immediately upstream from the falls on the Zambian side. Livingstone named his discovery in honour of Queen Victoria, but the indigenous name "Mosi-oa-Tunya" - "the smoke that thunders" - continues in common usage as well. The nearby national park in Zambia, for example, is named "Mosi-oa-Tunya", whereas the national park and town on the Zimbabwean shore are both named Victoria Falls. The World Heritage List officially recognizes both names.

Victoria - the only waterfall in the world, having more than 100 meters high and more than a kilometer wide.

The sable antelope

On left side is The sable antelope (Hippotragus niger) from Rhodesia coat of arms. It is an antelope, which inhabits wooded savannah in East Africa south of Kenya, and in Southern Africa.

Denominations in numerals are in all corners, in words - at the bottom, centered.


The pound was the currency of Southern Rhodesia. It also circulated in Northern Rhodesia and Nyasaland. The pound was subdivided into 20 shillings, each of 12 pence.

Prime Minister - Mr. Godfrey Martin Huggins (in office 12.9.1933 - 7.9.1953).