header Notes Collection

10 Rupees 1925. Second issue, India

in Krause book Number: 6
Years of issue: 10.1925
Signatures: Finance secretary: Mr. H.Denning
Serie: Government of India
Specimen of: 1925
Material: Cotton fiber
Size (mm): 152 × 101
Printer: TDLR (Thomas de la Rue & Company), London

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

10 Rupees 1925. Second issue




The Most Exalted Order of the Star of India of the first class - "Knight Grand Commander - GCSI".

About the Order, please, read reverse description!

Although, watermark consist of:

1) Wavy lines around the perimeter of the banknote.

2) Inscription - GOVTofINDIA (at the bottom).

3) Monogram of the Emperor of India - GRI - вin lower right corner.


10 Rupees 1925. Second issue

George V

Top right is the window with the portrait of HM The King George V.

HM The King George V (George Frederick Ernest Albert, 3 June 1865 - 20 January 1936) was King of the United Kingdom and the British Dominions, and Emperor of India, from 6 May 1910 until his death.

George was a grandson of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert and the first cousin of Tsar Nicholas II of Russia and Kaiser Wilhelm II of Germany. From 1877 to 1891, he served in the Royal Navy. On the death of Victoria in 1901, George's father became King Edward VII, and George was made Prince of Wales. On his father's death in 1910, he succeeded as King-Emperor of the British Empire. He was the only Emperor of India to be present at his own Delhi Durbar.

As a result of the First World War (1914-18), most other European empires fell while the British Empire expanded to its greatest effective extent. In 1917, George became the first monarch of the House of Windsor, which he renamed from the House of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha as a result of anti-German public sentiment. His reign saw the rise of socialism, communism, fascism, Irish republicanism, and the Indian independence movement, all of which radically changed the political landscape. The Parliament Act 1911 established the supremacy of the elected British House of Commons over the unelected House of Lords. In 1924 he appointed the first Labour ministry and in 1931 the Statute of Westminster recognised the dominions of the Empire as separate, independent states within the Commonwealth of Nations. He was plagued by illness throughout much of his later reign and at his death was succeeded by his eldest son, Edward VIII.


HM The King George V with The Imperial Crown of India.

The Imperial Crown of India is the crown that was used by King George V in his capacity as Emperor of India at the Delhi Durbar of 1911.

The British constitution prohibits the Crown Jewels from leaving the country, a product of the days when kings and queens often pawned the jewels to foreign buyers. There are also considerable risks involved in transporting the historic regalia by sea and land over such a great distance. For these reasons, a new crown was made specially for George V and Queen Mary's trip to India in 1911, where they were proclaimed as Emperor and Empress of India before the princes and rulers of India.

The Crown Jewellers at the time, Garrard & Co, made the crown at a cost of £60,000, which was borne by the India Office.

The Imperial Crown of India weighs 920 g. (2.03 lb.) and is set with 6,170 diamonds, 9 emeralds, 4 rubies, and 4 sapphires. At the front is a very fine emerald weighing 32 carats (6.4 g.). The king wrote in his diary that it was heavy and uncomfortable to wear: "Rather tired after wearing my crown for ​3 1⁄2 hours; it hurt my head, as it is pretty heavy."

Similar to other British crowns, it consists of a circlet with four crosses pattée and four fleurs-de-lis. However, the eight half-arches on top, which join at a typical monde and cross pattée, point upwards in the form of a Gothic ogee arch. The crown is the only crown of a British sovereign to have eight half-arches, in the style of continental European crowns, departing from the tradition of British crowns having two arches or four half-arches.

George and Mary were not crowned as emperor and empress at the ceremony; the Archbishop of Canterbury, Randall Davidson, did not think it appropriate for a Christian service to take place in a country where the people were mostly Hindu or Muslim. Instead, the king simply wore the crown as he entered the durbar, and the durbar was styled as an affirmation of the king's coronation, which had already taken place in the United Kingdom six months earlier.

It has not been used since George V returned from India. On 15 August 1947, the Indian Empire was dissolved and the Dominions of India and Pakistan came into being. George VI and his British Prime Minister, Clement Attlee, agreed that "as long as the two new Dominions remained in the Commonwealth, the crown should be retained among the Crown Jewels, but if at later date one or both were to secede it might be contended that, in view of the fact that it had been purchased out of Indian funds, the crown should be vested in some Indian authority". Whilst neither Dominion still exists, their Indian and Pakistani successor states are both still in the Commonwealth.

The Imperial Crown of India is on public display in the Jewel House at the Tower of London.

Denominations in numerals are in top right and lower left corners (although, repeated, on background).

The serial number is also in the upper right and lower left corners. This is a significant difference between the first issue of 1917 and the second issue of 1925. In 1917, the serial numbers were in opposite corners.


10 Rupees 1925. Second issue

Patterned background.

Top left, the monogram of His Majesty King George V - Emperor of India - GRI.

Laurel wreaths, with denomination, bottom left and right.

Centered are denominations written in eight Indian languages - Urdu, Hindi, Bengali, Burmese, Telugu, Tamil, Kannada and Gujarati.

George V

On background is The Most Exalted Order of the Star of India of the first class - "Knight Grand Commander - GCSI".

The Motto on Order - "HEAVENS LIGHT OUR GUIDE".

The Most Exalted Order of the Star of India is an order of chivalry founded by Queen Victoria in 1861. The Order includes members of three classes:

Knight Grand Commander (GCSI)

Knight Commander (KCSI)

Companion (CSI)

No appointments have been made since the 1948 New Year Honours, shortly after the Partition of India in 1947. With the death in 2009 of the last surviving knight, the Maharaja of Alwar, the order became dormant.

The motto of the order was Heaven's Light Our Guide. The Star of India emblem, the insignia of order and the informal emblem of British India, was also used as the basis of a series of flags to represent the Indian Empire.

The order is the fifth most senior British order of chivalry, following the Order of the Garter, Order of the Thistle, Order of St Patrick and Order of the Bath. It is the senior order of chivalry associated with the British Raj; junior to it is the Most Eminent Order of the Indian Empire, and there is also, for women only, the Imperial Order of the Crown of India.