header Notes Collection

5 Rubles 1917, Russia

in Krause book Number: 10c
Years of issue: Autumn 1917
Signatures: Управляющий: Иван Павлович Шипов (1914 - 1917), Кассир: А.Федулеев
Serie: 1917 Issue
Specimen of: 1909
Material: Cotton fiber
Size (mm): 153 х 100
Printer: Петроградская бумажная фабрика (1914-1924), Петроград

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

5 Rubles 1917




Wavy lines between which the numbers "5" are located.


5 Rubles 1917

Issue of the Soviet Government!


On the top is Lesser coat of arms of Russian Empire.

The Russian Empire had a coat of arms, displayed in either its greater, middle and lesser version.

Its escutcheon was golden with a black two-headed eagle crowned with two imperial crowns, over which the same third crown, enlarged, with two flying ends of the ribbon of the Order of Saint Andrew. The State Eagle held a golden scepter and golden globus cruciger. On the chest of the eagle there was an escutcheon with the arms of Moscow, depicting Saint George, mounted and defeating the dragon.

After approval by Alexander III on 24 July 1882, the greater coat of arms was adopted on November 3, replacing the previous 1857 version.

Its central element is the coat of arms, crowned with the helmet of Alexander Nevsky, with black and golden mantling, and flanked by the archangels Michael and Gabriel. The collar of the Order of Saint Andrew is suspended from the coat of arms. The whole lies within a golden ermine mantle, crowned by the Imperial Crown of Russia and decorated with black double-headed eagles. The inscription on the canopy reads: Съ Нами Богъ ("God is with us"). Above the canopy stands the state khorugv, of gold cloth, on which is depicted the Medium State Seal. The banner is topped by the State Eagle.

Around the central composition are placed fifteen coats of arms of the various territories of the Russian Empire. Nine of these are crowned and placed on a laurel and oak wreath. Proceeding from the left in a counter-clockwise direction, these represent, as they are included in the full imperial title: the Khanate of Kazan, the Kingdom of Poland, Tauric Chersonesos, the unified coat of arms of the Grand Principalities of Kiev, Vladimir and Novgorod, the dynastic arms of the House of Holstein-Gottorp-Romanov, the Grand Principality of Finland, the Georgian principalities, and the Khanates of Siberia and Astrakhan.

The six upper escutcheons are joint depictions of various smaller principalities and oblasts. From the left in a clockwise fashion, these are: the combined arms of the northeastern regions (Perm, Volga Bulgaria, Vyatka, Kondinsky, Obdorsk), of Belorussia and Lithuania (Lithuania, Białystok, Samogitia, Polatsk, Vitebsk, Mstislavl), the provinces of Great Russia proper (Pskov, Smolensk, Tver, Nizhniy-Novgorod, Ryazan, Rostov, Yaroslavl, Belozersk, Udorsky), the arms of the southwestern regions (Volhyn, Podolsk, Chernigov), the Baltic provinces (Esthonia, Courland and Semigalia, Karelia, Livonia) and Turkestan.

The Middle Coat of Arms (Средний государственный герб Российской Империи) is similar to the Great Coat of Arms, excluding the khorugv and the six upper escutcheons. The Abbreviated Imperial Title is inscribed over the perimeter of the Seal.

The Lesser Coat of Arms (Малый государственный герб Российской Империи) depicts the imperial double-headed eagle, as used in the coat of arms, with the addition of the collar of the Order of Saint Andrew around the escutcheon of St. George, and the Arms of Astrakhan, Siberia, Georgia, Finland, Kiev-Vladimir-Novgorod, Taurica, Poland and Kazan on the wings (seen clockwise).

Banknotes with the signature "I.Shipov" series UA-001 - UA-043 were issued in the fall of 1917, before the arrival of Soviet power. Printed by the Expedition of Procurement of State Papers in Petrograd.

The front side drawing is enclosed in a large curly frame with floral ornaments. In the upper part of the frame is the image of the State Emblem of the Russian Empire of the 1883 model, under which the year of the banknote sample is “1909”, in the lower part there is the number “5” enclosed in a circle. Upstairs there are two sockets with the numbers "5". Around the frame, the entire space is filled with a background of numbers "5", surrounded by the words "RUB". Inside the frame, the series and series number are indicated at the top left and bottom middle. At the top of the semicircle is the word "STATE", under it there is a thin pattern and the inscription - "Credit Billet". Below is the denomination - "FIVE RUBLES", even lower four-line inscription - "Государственный банкъ размениваетъ кредитные билеты на золотую монету безъ ограниченiя суммы (1 р. = 1/15 имперiала, содержитъ 17,424 долей чистаго золота)." ("The State Bank exchanges credit tickets for a gold coin without an unlimited amount (1 p. = 1/15 imperial, contains 17.424 shares of net gold") ( .rus)


5 Rubles 1917

The reverse side, like the front side, has a background of numbers "5", surrounded by the words "RUB". Orange rays stretch from the center of the background to the sides. In the middle is a large pattern consisting of wavy lines, at the corners of which there are four sockets with the numbers "5". At the bottom of the pattern is the face value in words - "FIVE RUBLES". In the central part, the imperial mantle is depicted with a crown and ribbon of the Order of St. Andrew at the top, inside which is the Small State Coat of Arms of the Russian Empire of 1883. Under the mantle is a power and a bas-relief in the form of a lion’s head, from where branches of a laurel tree and an oak tree diverge to the sides, into which a scepter and a sword are inserted. At the bottom, a curly frame with a bas-relief and an inscription in small print:

"1. The exchange of State credit tickets for a gold coin is ensured by the entire possession of the State. 2. State credit tickets are circulated throughout the Empire on a par with gold coins. 3. For forgery of a credit ticket, the guilty party is deprived of all his rights and exile to hard labor." ( .rus)