header Notes Collection

25 Rubles 1917, Russia

in Krause book Number: 12c
Years of issue: End 1917 - 1918
Signatures: Управляющий: Иван Павлович Шипов (1914 - 1917), Кассир: А.Афанасьев.
Serie: 1917 Issue
Specimen of: 1909
Material: Cotton fiber
Size (mm): 175 х 105
Printer: Петроградская бумажная фабрика (1914-1924), Петроград

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

25 Rubles 1917




Wavy lines between which the numbers "5" are located.


25 Rubles 1917

Issue of the Soviet Government!


On left side is Lesser coat of arms of Russian Empire.

The Russian Empire had a coat of arms, displayed in either its greater, middle and lesser version.

Its escutcheon was golden with a black two-headed eagle crowned with two imperial crowns, over which the same third crown, enlarged, with two flying ends of the ribbon of the Order of Saint Andrew. The State Eagle held a golden scepter and golden globus cruciger. On the chest of the eagle there was an escutcheon with the arms of Moscow, depicting Saint George, mounted and defeating the dragon.

After approval by Alexander III on 24 July 1882, the greater coat of arms was adopted on November 3, replacing the previous 1857 version.

Its central element is the coat of arms, crowned with the helmet of Alexander Nevsky, with black and golden mantling, and flanked by the archangels Michael and Gabriel. The collar of the Order of Saint Andrew is suspended from the coat of arms. The whole lies within a golden ermine mantle, crowned by the Imperial Crown of Russia and decorated with black double-headed eagles. The inscription on the canopy reads: Съ Нами Богъ ("God is with us"). Above the canopy stands the state khorugv, of gold cloth, on which is depicted the Medium State Seal. The banner is topped by the State Eagle.

Around the central composition are placed fifteen coats of arms of the various territories of the Russian Empire. Nine of these are crowned and placed on a laurel and oak wreath. Proceeding from the left in a counter-clockwise direction, these represent, as they are included in the full imperial title: the Khanate of Kazan, the Kingdom of Poland, Tauric Chersonesos, the unified coat of arms of the Grand Principalities of Kiev, Vladimir and Novgorod, the dynastic arms of the House of Holstein-Gottorp-Romanov, the Grand Principality of Finland, the Georgian principalities, and the Khanates of Siberia and Astrakhan.

The six upper escutcheons are joint depictions of various smaller principalities and oblasts. From the left in a clockwise fashion, these are: the combined arms of the northeastern regions (Perm, Volga Bulgaria, Vyatka, Kondinsky, Obdorsk), of Belorussia and Lithuania (Lithuania, Białystok, Samogitia, Polatsk, Vitebsk, Mstislavl), the provinces of Great Russia proper (Pskov, Smolensk, Tver, Nizhniy-Novgorod, Ryazan, Rostov, Yaroslavl, Belozersk, Udorsky), the arms of the southwestern regions (Volhyn, Podolsk, Chernigov), the Baltic provinces (Esthonia, Courland and Semigalia, Karelia, Livonia) and Turkestan.

The Middle Coat of Arms (Средний государственный герб Российской Империи) is similar to the Great Coat of Arms, excluding the khorugv and the six upper escutcheons. The Abbreviated Imperial Title is inscribed over the perimeter of the Seal.

The Lesser Coat of Arms (Малый государственный герб Российской Империи) depicts the imperial double-headed eagle, as used in the coat of arms, with the addition of the collar of the Order of Saint Andrew around the escutcheon of St. George, and the Arms of Astrakhan, Siberia, Georgia, Finland, Kiev-Vladimir-Novgorod, Taurica, Poland and Kazan on the wings (seen clockwise).

Credit bills of this type were introduced on June 1, 1909 in addition to banknotes of the 1898 type and remained legal tender until September 8, 1922. Issued unchanged (with different signatures and series) under the tsarist, Provisional and Soviet governments, all indicated the date is "1909". The design is decorated with purple, green and black colors. Banknotes with the signature "I. Shipov" with series from ДЯ to ЕЯ were issued under the Soviet regime. Printed by the Expedition for the procurement of government securities in Petrograd.

The front side has a purple background, consisting of oval and rhomboid elements. In the middle of the background there is a color pattern with the number "25". In the center at the top with an offset to the right is the word "State", below (without an offset) - "CREDIT BILL". Even lower in a semicircle is the denomination - "TWENTY-FIVE", under which the word "RUBLES" is horizontal. The inscription is even lower: “The State Bank exchanges credit tickets for a gold coin without an unlimited amount (1 p. = 1/15 imperial, contains 17.424 shares of pure gold)." Under the inscription there are signatures of the manager and the cashier. On the left side of the back there is a patterned cartouche with laurel branches, a ribbon and a chain, inside of which is the Small State Emblem of the Russian Empire of the 1883 model. A wreath is hung under the cartouche on the ring, inside of which there is a socket with the number "25". At the top right there is a small cartouche with the number "25", and at the bottom right there is a curly frame with the date "1909" (year of the bill). Above the date and to the left of the word "State" are the series and number. ( .rus)


25 Rubles 1917

Alexander III

The back side consists of repeating numbers "25" surrounded by the words "RUB". The left half of the background has a purple color, smoothly turning into green on the right side. On the left side there is an empty plain field for viewing the watermark, above it is the imperial crown with the ribbon of the Order of St. Andrew, at the bottom there is the number "25", on top of which is the word "RUBLE". On the right side of the banknote is an oval frame with bas-reliefs, crowned with a crown with laurel leaves. Inside the frame is a portrait of Emperor Alexander III. Below is a cartouche with the inscription "ALEXANDER III". Under the portrait with a shift to the left are fruits, an anchor, palm and laurel branches, symbolizing abundance, peace, victory, the power of the Russian fleet and army. In the middle above, inside the laurel branches connected together, there is the Small State Coat of Arms of the Russian Empire of the sample of 1883. Below the inscription in small print on top of the number "25":

"1. The exchange of State credit tickets for a gold coin shall be ensured by the entire possession of the State.

2. Government credit cards are used throughout the Empire on a par with gold coins.

3. For the falsification of credit tickets, the guilty party is deprived of all right to be transferred and sent to hard labor." ( .rus)