header Notes Collection

1 Pound 1961, Australia

in Krause book Number: 34a
Years of issue: 1961 - 1965
Signatures: Governor, Reserve bank of Australia: Mr. H. C. Coombs, Secretary to the Treasury: Mr.Roland Wilson
Serie: 1961 Issue
Specimen of: 1961
Material: Cotton fiber
Size (mm): 154.94 x 81.28
Printer: Note printing works at Victoria Parade, Fitzroy, Melbourne (1924 - 1981)

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

1 Pound 1961



Captain James Cook

Captain James Cook, The Royal Society of London for Improving Natural Knowledge, The Royal Navy (7 November 1728 - 14 February 1779) was a British explorer, navigator, cartographer, and captain in the Royal Navy. Cook made detailed maps of Newfoundland prior to making three voyages to the Pacific Ocean, during which he achieved the first recorded European contact with the eastern coastline of Australia and the Hawaiian Islands, and the first recorded circumnavigation of New Zealand.


Behind each signature is an inscription: "One pound".


1 Pound 1961

On the right is Cameo portrait (cameo effect is used in coinage, when the images and inscriptions on the coins are executed in the form of a convex relief) of HM Queen Elizabeth II.(Peter Symes)


This bas-relief profile of The Queen, wearing the George IV State Diadem. Made by Rundell, Bridge & Rundell (and likely designed by their designer, Philip Liebart) in 1820, the diadem features a set of 4 crosses pattée alternating with 4 bouquets of roses, thistles, and shamrocks. The motifs are set on a band of diamond scrollwork between two bands of pearls. Queen Alexandra had the diadem made smaller in 1902, reducing the top band of pearls from 86 to 81, and the bottom band from 94 to 88. The front cross is set with a 4 carat yellow diamond, and the piece features 1,333 diamonds in all. (Sartorial Splendor)

Pair of pearl drop earrings, circa 1947

Pair of pearl drop earrings, made circa 1947.

The pearls used to create these earrings were a wedding present to Princess Elizabeth in 1947 from the Sheikh of Bahrain. The diamonds used in the earrings use a variety of modern cuts. (A Royal Wedding 1947)


On top is Australian coat of arms.

The coat of arms of Australia (formally known as Commonwealth Coat of Arms) is the official symbol of Australia. The initial coat of arms was granted by King Edward VII on 7 May 1908, and the current version was granted by King George V on 19 September 1912, although the 1908 version continued to be used in some contexts.

In the top half of the shield, from left to right, the states represented are: New South Wales, Victoria and Queensland. In the bottom half, from left to right: South Australia, Western Australia, and Tasmania. Above the shield is the seven-pointed Commonwealth Star or Star of Federation above a blue and gold wreath, forming the crest. Six of the points on the star represent the original six states, while the seventh point represents the combined territories and any future states of Australia. In its entirety the shield represents the federation of Australia.

The Red Kangaroo and Emu that support the shield are the unofficial animal emblems of the nation. They owe this recognition to the fact that they are native Australian fauna (found only on that continent), and likely chosen because they are the most well-known native Australian animals large enough to be positioned together in scale holding up the shield. It is often claimed these animals were chosen because neither animal can move backward, only forward - i.e. progress. In reality both animals can move backwards, but infrequently do. In the background is wreath of Golden Wattle, the official national floral emblem, though the representation of the species is not botanically accurate.At the bottom of the coat of arms is a scroll that contains the name of the nation. Neither the wreath of wattle nor the scroll are technically part of the official design described on the Royal Warrant that grants the armorial design.


The coat of arms surrounded (also along left side vertically) by Hakea leaves. Hakea is a genus of 149 species of shrubs and small trees in the Proteaceae, native to Australia. They are found throughout the country, with the highest species diversity being found in the south west of Western Australia. Hakeas are named after Baron Christian Ludwig von Hake, the XVIII century German patron of botany, following Heinrich Schrader's description of Hakea teretifolia in 1797.

Denominations in numerals are in all corners, in words centered.


1 Pound 1961

4 circle. Left to right:

1) Denomination 1 Pound.

2) Captain Charles Napier Sturt (28 April 1795 - 16 June 1869) was a British explorer of Australia, and part of the European exploration of Australia. He led several expeditions into the interior of the continent, starting from both Sydney and later from Adelaide. His expeditions traced several of the westward-flowing rivers, establishing that they all merged into the Murray River. He was searching to determine if there was an "inland sea".

3) Mr.Hamilton Hume (19 June 1797 - 19 April 1873) was an early explorer of the present-day Australian states of New South Wales and Victoria. Along with Hovell in 1824, Hume was part of an expedition that first took an overland route from Sydney to Port Phillip near the site of present day Melbourne. Along with Sturt in 1828, he was part of an expedition of the first Europeans to discover the Darling River.

4) Watermark window. Inscriptions are: James Cook and Endeavour.

On the bottom: Commonwealth of Australia.

Denominations in numerals are in all corners and on the left side.


Governor of Reserve Bank of Australia Mr.H. C. Coombs was in the office from

January 1949 till 1968.

Secretary to the Treasury Mr.Roland Wilson from April 1951 till October 1966.