header Notes Collection

3 Rubles 1917, Russia

in Krause book Number: 9c
Years of issue: 1917
Edition: 217 700 000
Signatures: Управляющий: Иван Павлович Шипов (1914 - 1917), Кассир: Гаврилов
Serie: 1917 Issue
Specimen of: 1905
Material: Cotton fiber
Size (mm): 154 х 99
Printer: Петроградская бумажная фабрика (1914-1924), Петроград

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

3 Rubles 1917




Denominations 3 in rhombuses.


3 Rubles 1917

Issue of the Provisional Government!


On left side is Lesser coat of arms of Russian Empire.

The Russian Empire had a coat of arms, displayed in either its greater, middle and lesser version.

Its escutcheon was golden with a black two-headed eagle crowned with two imperial crowns, over which the same third crown, enlarged, with two flying ends of the ribbon of the Order of Saint Andrew. The State Eagle held a golden scepter and golden globus cruciger. On the chest of the eagle there was an escutcheon with the arms of Moscow, depicting Saint George, mounted and defeating the dragon.

After approval by Alexander III on 24 July 1882, the greater coat of arms was adopted on November 3, replacing the previous 1857 version.

Its central element is the coat of arms, crowned with the helmet of Alexander Nevsky, with black and golden mantling, and flanked by the archangels Michael and Gabriel. The collar of the Order of Saint Andrew is suspended from the coat of arms. The whole lies within a golden ermine mantle, crowned by the Imperial Crown of Russia and decorated with black double-headed eagles. The inscription on the canopy reads: Съ Нами Богъ ("God is with us"). Above the canopy stands the state khorugv, of gold cloth, on which is depicted the Medium State Seal. The banner is topped by the State Eagle.

Around the central composition are placed fifteen coats of arms of the various territories of the Russian Empire. Nine of these are crowned and placed on a laurel and oak wreath. Proceeding from the left in a counter-clockwise direction, these represent, as they are included in the full imperial title: the Khanate of Kazan, the Kingdom of Poland, Tauric Chersonesos, the unified coat of arms of the Grand Principalities of Kiev, Vladimir and Novgorod, the dynastic arms of the House of Holstein-Gottorp-Romanov, the Grand Principality of Finland, the Georgian principalities, and the Khanates of Siberia and Astrakhan.

The six upper escutcheons are joint depictions of various smaller principalities and oblasts. From the left in a clockwise fashion, these are: the combined arms of the northeastern regions (Perm, Volga Bulgaria, Vyatka, Kondinsky, Obdorsk), of Belorussia and Lithuania (Lithuania, Białystok, Samogitia, Polatsk, Vitebsk, Mstislavl), the provinces of Great Russia proper (Pskov, Smolensk, Tver, Nizhniy-Novgorod, Ryazan, Rostov, Yaroslavl, Belozersk, Udorsky), the arms of the southwestern regions (Volhyn, Podolsk, Chernigov), the Baltic provinces (Esthonia, Courland and Semigalia, Karelia, Livonia) and Turkestan.

The Middle Coat of Arms (Средний государственный герб Российской Империи) is similar to the Great Coat of Arms, excluding the khorugv and the six upper escutcheons. The Abbreviated Imperial Title is inscribed over the perimeter of the Seal.

The Lesser Coat of Arms (Малый государственный герб Российской Империи) depicts the imperial double-headed eagle, as used in the coat of arms, with the addition of the collar of the Order of Saint Andrew around the escutcheon of St. George, and the Arms of Astrakhan, Siberia, Georgia, Finland, Kiev-Vladimir-Novgorod, Taurica, Poland and Kazan on the wings (seen clockwise).

Background and pattern are multicolored. The seal is black. Monogram of Nicholas II "Н II" - on the right.

Denominations in numerals are in three corners. In words centered.

Options for signatures of cashiers with the signature of the manager I. Shipov of the Provisional Government: A. Afanasyev, Baryshev, Gavrilov, Gr. Ivanov, J. Metz, Ovchinnikov, Rodionov, Sofronov, Chikhirdzhin, Shagin, Schmidt. Series from ЧХ to АН.

Issues under the manager I. Shipov belong to different periods: until 1917 (series from ФЕ to ЧФ), the Provisional Government (series from ЧХ to АН), the Soviet government (from AO to ГӨ). They have different signatures of cashiers. ( .rus)


3 Rubles 1917

Above, again, the coat of arms of the Russian Empire.

The background is multicolored (from light green to green-lilac).

The reverse side, like the front one, has a background of the numbers "3", surrounded by Roman numerals "III". In the middle there is a large patterned frame with floral ornamentation at the corners and large rosettes with the numbers "3" on the sides. In the middle there is a small State Emblem of the Russian Empire of 1883, with a small font under it:

"1. The exchange of state credit tickets for gold coins is guaranteed by all the state's assets." 2. State credit cards have circulation throughout the Empire along with a gold coin. "3. For the forgery of credit tickets, the guilty person is deprived of all the rights of the state and the reference to hard labor." The coat of arms and the inscription are also surrounded by a patterned frame.

Denominations in numerals are on right and left sides.