header Notes Collection

1000 Rubles 1999, Belarus

in Krause book Number: 16
Years of issue: 16.09.1998 - 01.01.2001
Edition: --
Signatures: no signature
Serie: 1998 Issue
Specimen of: 16.09.1998
Material: Cotton fiber
Size (mm): 110 x 60
Printer: Гознак, Московская печатная фабрика, филиал ФГУП "Гознак", Москва

* All pictures marked magnify are increased partially by magnifying glass, the remaining open in full size by clicking on the image.

** The word "Specimen" is present only on some of electronic pictures, in accordance with banknote images publication rules of appropriate banks.

1000 Rubles 1999



watermarkPattern of lines (form loopholes).


1000 Rubles 1999

Academy of science Academy of scienceThe building of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus in Minsk. Before 1992 - The Academy of Sciences of Belorussian SSR.

The architect of building is Iosif Langbard, a Soviet Belarus architect and Honored Artist of the Byelorussian SSR (1934).

The National Academy of Sciences of Belarus (formerly Belarusian Academy of Sciences in 1928-1936; Academy of Sciences of the Byelorussian SSR in 1936-1991; Academy of Sciences of Belarus in 1991-1997) was founded on January 1, 1929 on the basis of The Institute of Belarusian Culture (Inbelkult, 1922-1928), which was reorganized to the Academy of Science through the Decree of Central Executive Committee and Soviet of People's Commissars of the Belarusian Soviet Socialist Republic on October 13, 1928. At the beginning of its activity the Academy had only 128 staff members, among them 87 scientists. By 1941 the Academy had 750 staff and 12 subdivisions.

During World War II the Academy was evacuated to Russia and other Soviet republics. Huge damage was brought to the Academy's material state.

Right after war's end, eight institutes started their activity again. By 1951 the Academy had 29 subdivisions, 1234 staff including 33 academicians. The Academy was supported by the governments of Belarus and the USSR as well as by leading scientific centers in Moscow, Leningrad and other Soviet cities.

Academy of science Academy of scienceThrough its history the National Science Academy of Belarus has grown up to a respectful scientific center. A USSR-wide fame had Belarusian scientists like Panas Akhrem (chemistry), Mikalay Barysyevich (physics), Fyodar Fyodaraw (physics), Vyeniyamin Vacyakow (medicine, biology), Uladzimir Ulashchyk (medicine, biology).

After the dissolution of the Soviet Union the scope of the academic research and the structure of the academy had undergone significant changes, with more emphasis on applied problems, under the immediate supervision of Alexander Lukashenko in accordance with the Law №159-3 of May 5, 1998 "On the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus" and Decree of the President of Belarus №390 of August 4, 1998 "On Additional Measures on Realization by the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus of the Status of Higher State Scientific Organization".

For the photo thanks to this page -


1000 Rubles 1999

Denomination in numeral "1000" depicted centered, in vignette. In lower part is an inscription: "РАЗЛІКОВЫ БІЛЕТ НАЦЫЯНАЛЬНАГА БАНКА БЕЛАРУСІ" (The banknote of Republic of Belarus). In top right corner is an inscription in Belorussian: "ПАДРОБКА РАЗЛІКОВЫХ БІЛЕТАЎ НАЦЫЯНАЛЬНАГА БАНКА БЕЛАРУСІ ПРАСЛЕДУЕЦЦА ПА ЗАКОНУ" (Falsification is punished by law).


Canceled: From December 31, 2003.

5000 rubles series of 1998 were issued in 9 prefixes: КА, КБ, КВ, КГ, КД, ЛА, ЛБ, ЛВ, ЛГ. All of them were issued in 1999 ( .rus)